News & Articles

National Sleep Foundation Announces New Board of Directors

Contact: NSF Communications


National Sleep Foundation Announces New Board of Directors
Lauren Hale Elected as Chair


Washington, D.C. (July 01, 2021): Effective July 1, Lauren Hale, PhD, Professor of Family, Population and Preventative Medicine in the Renaissance School of Medicine at Stony Brook University will serve as Chair of the Board of Directors for the National Sleep Foundation (NSF). As Chair of the National Sleep Foundation, Dr. Hale will lead a Board of Directors composed of clinicians, researchers, and business professionals.


“I am deeply honored to assume the role of Chair during this exciting time. For over 30 years, NSF has been at the forefront of helping the public understand and adopt good sleep health practices into their daily lives. We continue to advance sleep health through our active involvement in and promotion of research, and we are setting our eyes on making an even greater impact on public health through our regular work with a diverse range of sleep health stakeholders. I’m grateful to be working with a dynamic team of people to help NSF achieve our goals,” said Hale. 


“Dr. Hale’s background in sleep health, the social determinants of health, and vulnerable populations will help NSF strengthen and expand our perspectives and partnerships as we execute our mission,” said John Lopos, National Sleep Foundation CEO. “Lauren has been a key member of the NSF board, and as the Founding Editor-In-Chief of Sleep Health was instrumental to the success of our journal,” continued Lopos.


Also starting July 1, Thomas DiSalvi, CDS, will serve as Vice Chair. DiSalvi is Vice President of Safety and Loss Prevention at Schneider National, Inc. Benjamin Gerson, MD, Thomas Jefferson University, will serve as Treasurer, and David N. Neubauer, MD, Associate Director of the Johns Hopkins Sleep Disorders Center, will serve as Secretary. Temitayo Oyegbile-Chidi, MD, PhD, University of California, Davis, will serve as an At-Large member of the Executive Committee. Additionally, Nana Duncan, Founder and Principal of the Thatcher Duncan Group, will now serve on the Board of Directors.


NSF expresses its gratitude to Richard K. Bogan, MD, who has completed his second term as NSF Chair.  Dr. Bogan is the President of Bogan Sleep Consultants, LLC, and a Medical Officer of SleepMed, Inc. NSF thanks Dr. Bogan for his years of service to NSF and his continued support of NSF’s mission.


Visit for sleep health information and a full list of the National Sleep Foundation’s Board of Directors.


About the National Sleep Foundation

The National Sleep Foundation (NSF) is a 501(c)3 nonprofit corporation dedicated to improving health and well-being through sleep education and advocacy. Founded in 1990, the NSF is committed to advancing excellence in sleep health theory, research and practice.