News & Articles

National Sleep Foundation Announces Board of Directors

For Immediate Release
Contact: NSF Communications

National Sleep Foundation Announces Board of Directors

Washington, D.C. (July 9, 2020): Richard K. Bogan, MD, will continue his role as Chair of the National Sleep Foundation board of directors in FY21. Dr. Bogan is the President of Bogan Sleep Consultants, LLC, and a Medical Officer of SleepMed, Inc., the largest sleep diagnostic company in the United States. He is also Associate Clinical Professor at the University of South Carolina School of Medicine and Associate Clinical Professor at the Medical University of South Carolina in Charleston, SC. Dr. Bogan has served as principal investigator on numerous clinical trials and has a variety of publications and research interests that focus on topics such as narcolepsy, insomnia, sleep apnea, shift work sleep disorder, restless legs syndrome, chronic fatigue/fibromyalgia and circadian rhythm abnormality. As Chair of the National Sleep Foundation, Dr. Bogan will continue to lead a board of directors composed of physicians, scientists, and business professionals.

“It’s an honor to continue to serve as the Chair of the National Sleep Foundation board of directors. We have an important mission and role as the global voice for sleep health. I look forward to an exciting year of new programs and initiatives to improve sleep health,” said Bogan.

Also starting July 1, Lauren Hale, PhD, will serve as Vice Chair. Dr. Hale is Professor of Preventive Medicine, Program in Public Health, at SUNY, Stony Brook. Benjamin Gerson, MD, Thomas Jefferson University, will serve as Treasurer, and David N. Neubauer, MD, Associate Director of the Johns Hopkins Sleep Disorders Center, will serve as Secretary. Other members of the board include Helen Chang, RPh, Thomas DiSalvi, CDS, Paul P. Doghramji, MD, Jerrold A. Kram, MD, Steven E. Lerman, MD, MPH, Maurice M. Ohayon, MD, DSc, PhD, Temitayo Oyegbile, MD, PhD, Rafael Pelayo, MD, Kristen E. Prinz, JD, and Desmar Walkes, MD.

Stephen Sheldon, DO has completed his term on the NSF board of directors. NSF thanks Dr. Sheldon for his years of service to NSF and his continued support of NSF’s mission.



About the National Sleep Foundation

National Sleep Foundation (NSF) is a 501(c)3 nonprofit corporation dedicated to improving health and well-being through sleep education and advocacy. Founded in 1990, the NSF is committed to advancing excellence in sleep health theory, research and practice. │