Since 2001 NSF has been recognizing and celebrating the achievements of individuals who have contributed to advancing the sleep field. 


2018 Sudhansu Chokroverty, MD, Lifetime Achievement

2017 Mark R. Rosekind, PhD, Lifetime Achievement

2016 David Gozal, MD, MBA, Lifetime Achievement

2015 Emmanuel Mignot, MD, PhD, Lifetime Achievement

2014 Meir H. Kryger, MD, Lifetime Achievement

2014 William C. Orr, PhD, Clinical Research Leadership

2014 Arthur J. Spielman, PhD, Insomnia Educator Leadership

2013 Timothy A. Roehrs, PhD, Lifetime Achievement

2013 Christine Acebo, PhD, Excellence in Sleep Assessment Research

2012 Michael Thorpy, MBChB, Lifetime Achievement

2012 Charmane Eastman, PhD, Excellence in Applied Circadian Rhythm Research

2012 Ernest Hartmann, MD, Excellence in Science of Sleep and Dreaming

2011 Robert Y. Moore, MD, PhD, Lifetime Achievement

2011 Gregory Belenky, MD, Excellence in Sleep & Performance Research

2011 Peter J. Hauri, PhD, Excellence in Insomnia Research & Education

2011 Lorraine L. Wearley, PhD, Sleep Health & Safety Leadership

2010 Allan I. Pack, MBChB, PhD, Lifetime Achievement

2010 Pietro Badia, PhD, Sleep Educator

2010 Wallace B. Mendelson, MD, Sleep & Psychiatry

2009 Philip R. Westbrook, MD, Lifetime Achievement

2009 Colin Sullivan, MBBS, PhD, Sleep Innovator

2008 Charles A. Czeisler, MD, PhD, Lifetime Achievement

2007 Sonia Ancoli-Israel, PhD, Lifetime Achievement

2006 James K. Walsh, PhD, Lifetime Achievement

2005 Christian Guilleminault, MD, Lifetime Achievement

2004 Allan Rechtschaffen, PhD, Lifetime Achievement

2003 Mary A. Carskadon, PhD, Lifetime Achievement

2002 Thomas Roth, PhD, Lifetime Achievement

2001 William C. Dement, MD, PhD, Lifetime Achievement