The National Sleep Foundation (NSF) is dedicated to improving health and well-being through sleep education and advocacy. Founded in 1990, the NSF is committed to advancing excellence in sleep health theory, research and practice.

The National Sleep Foundation does not provide medical advice.  If you have a question about a sleep problem you are experiencing, talk to your physician.  

The National Sleep Foundation Mission

The National Sleep Foundation is dedicated to improving health and well-being through sleep education and advocacy.

The National Sleep Foundation Goals

As the global voice for sleep health, National Sleep Foundation’s priority goals are to ensure that:

  • Sleep is used as a vital sign of health by medical professionals and the public;
  • The biological sleep/wake process is common knowledge;
  • Workplaces, schools, homes and transportation infrastructures are designed to be sleep-friendly; and
  • Sleep science is rapidly incorporated into products and services.

NSF Board of Directors, Committees and Councils


Board of Directors

The National Sleep Foundation is governed by volunteers who serve on the Board of Directors.


NSF Committees, Councils, Task Forces and Consensus Panels each have unique areas of responsibility all of which advance our goals.

Education Committee

Provide strategic direction and leadership to NSF’s education programs, including overseeing CME and related professional education initiatives, including the annual CME Activity Plan and the multi-year program calendar.  The committee is responsible for working with staff to implement Education projects. Additionally, the committee has a specialty subcommittee, the CME task force, which will report to the Education Committee on all CME approved activities (e.g. live and online CME courses).


Public Health and Methodology Council

The PHMC is comprised of leading sleep health researchers, physicians, epidemiologists, methodologists and biostatisticians.  It oversees population health initiatives (e.g. consensus panels) and makes recommendations to advance the NSF’s population health and methodology agenda.  NSF relies on the PHMC to provide a reliable source of expertise on sleep and its association to health.  


SleepTech Council

The Sleep Technology Council is responsible for planning of an annual event promoting sleep technology. The council also oversees the development of industry and consumer outreach initiatives designed to support the growth of the sleep technology sector.


Government Affairs Committee

The Government Affairs Committee works with staff to propose strategies, objectives and tactics for NSF’s GA programs and advocacy efforts.


Finance Committee

Proposes an annual operating budget. Manages the capital budget process including appropriation of limited resources. Review quarterly financial performance and reserve performance. Reviews financial controls. Reviews investment policy. Evaluates the investment advisor and, as appropriate, considers new advisors and makes recommendations. 


Nominations Committee

Provides an essential function of identifying Board members and officers that will best be able to help the organization reach its mission and goals. Determines Board needs for leadership.  


National Sleep Foundation Awards

Since 2001 NSF has been recognizing and celebrating the achievements of individuals who have contributed to advancing the sleep field. The following individuals received an award from the National Sleep Foundation:

2018 Sudhansu Chokroverty, MD, Lifetime Achievement

2017 Mark R. Rosekind, PhD, Lifetime Achievement

2016 David Gozal, MD, MBA, Lifetime Achievement

2015 Emmanuel Mignot, MD, PhD, Lifetime Achievement

2014 Meir H. Kryger, MD, Lifetime Achievement

2014 William C. Orr, PhD, Clinical Research Leadership

2014 Arthur J. Spielman, PhD, Insomnia Educator Leadership

2013 Timothy A. Roehrs, PhD, Lifetime Achievement

2013 Christine Acebo, PhD, Excellence in Sleep Assessment Research

2012 Michael Thorpy, MBChB, Lifetime Achievement

2012 Charmane Eastman, PhD, Excellence in Applied Circadian Rhythm Research

2012 Ernest Hartmann, MD, Excellence in Science of Sleep and Dreaming

2011 Robert Y. Moore, MD, PhD, Lifetime Achievement

2011 Gregory Belenky, MD, Excellence in Sleep & Performance Research

2011 Peter J. Hauri, PhD, Excellence in Insomnia Research & Education

2011 Lorraine L. Wearley, PhD, Sleep Health & Safety Leadership

2010 Allan I. Pack, MBChB, PhD, Lifetime Achievement

2010 Pietro Badia, PhD, Sleep Educator

2010 Wallace B. Mendelson, MD, Sleep & Psychiatry

2009 Philip R. Westbrook, MD, Lifetime Achievement

2009 Colin Sullivan, MBBS, PhD, Sleep Innovator

2008 Charles A. Czeisler, MD, PhD, Lifetime Achievement

2007 Sonia Ancoli-Israel, PhD, Lifetime Achievement

2006 James K. Walsh, PhD, Lifetime Achievement

2005 Christian Guilleminault, MD, Lifetime Achievement

2004 Allan Rechtschaffen, PhD, Lifetime Achievement

2003 Mary A. Carskadon, PhD, Lifetime Achievement

2002 Thomas Roth, PhD, Lifetime Achievement

2001 William C. Dement, MD, PhD, Lifetime Achievement